Janet Cardiff & George Bures Miller

Opera for a Small Room 2008

May I take my seat, enlightening myself within this retrieved memoir? Records stacked and objects collecting dust as they wait for their revival. Its premiere showcase has been long gone. But, preserved and contained is where they shall stay.

Voices surround me, ringing as they formulate their melodies through my ears. The speakers echo and crack as its age is reminded. (It is no competitor for the present.) As words are recalled, the sensations that were once here shiver to my tips. My dancing fingers thrive to this lingering beat; a past time glory.

But here, a second performance may commence. A Method of Loci is what this is. As it loosens my cabinet, files start to rebuild a vision that has once been seen. May I take my seat, enlightening myself within this retrieved memoir?

(A perceptive response style review)

Leave a Reply

